File:Historic American Buildings Survey E. H. Pickering, Photographer June 1936 THE BACK BUILDING - Kirk House, Darlington Road, west side (State Route 161), Darlington, Harford County, HABS MD,13-DARL,1-2.tif

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Original file(3,558 × 5,000 pixels, file size: 16.97 MB, MIME type: image/tiff)

Captions

Captions

Add a one-line explanation of what this file represents

Summary

[edit]
Historic American Buildings Survey E. H. Pickering, Photographer June 1936 THE BACK BUILDING - Kirk House, Darlington Road, west side (State Route 161), Darlington, Harford County, MD
Photographer
Pickering, E. H., creator
Title
Historic American Buildings Survey E. H. Pickering, Photographer June 1936 THE BACK BUILDING - Kirk House, Darlington Road, west side (State Route 161), Darlington, Harford County, MD
Description
Pickering, E H, photographer
Depicted place Maryland; Harford County; Darlington
Date Documentation compiled after 1933
Dimensions 5 x 7 in.
Current location
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/pp.print
Accession number
HABS MD,13-DARL,1-2
Credit line
This file comes from the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) or Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). These are programs of the National Park Service established for the purpose of documenting historic places. Records consist of measured drawings, archival photographs, and written reports.

This tag does not indicate the copyright status of the attached work. A normal copyright tag is still required. See Commons:Licensing.

Notes
  • Significance: The Kirk House, built c. 1810, is one of the oldest buildings in the village of Darlington and in northeastern Harford County. Located at the main crossroads of Darlington, it was likely originally used both as a residential and commercial structure. The walls are constructed of carefully dressed local Wissahickon schist and Port Deposit granite laid in a random ashlar pattern. Large gray granite quoins accent the corners of the main facade and the same stone is used as window lintels. The slate roof was quarried in nearby Cardiff.

The Kirk House is named for the father and son physicians who lived and practiced here from the 1890s until 1968. The village of Darlington began as a rural Quaker settlement during the first half of the eighteenth century. The Quakers remained a strong presence in the village, which became a center for trade in northeastern Harford County during the first half of the nineteenth century. Much of this trade was prompted by the growth of the Susquehanna River fishing industry and the construction of the Susquehanna and Tidewater Canal.

  • Survey number: HABS MD-513
  • Building/structure dates: ca. 1810 Initial Construction
Source https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/md0649.photos.081998p
Permission
(Reusing this file)
Public domain This image or media file contains material based on a work of a National Park Service employee, created as part of that person's official duties. As a work of the U.S. federal government, such work is in the public domain in the United States. See the NPS website and NPS copyright policy for more information.

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

Date/TimeThumbnailDimensionsUserComment
current04:44, 22 July 2014Thumbnail for version as of 04:44, 22 July 20143,558 × 5,000 (16.97 MB) (talk | contribs)GWToolset: Creating mediafile for Fæ. HABS 21 July 2014 (1601:1800)

Metadata