File:Collectanea topographica et genealogica (1834) (14577322079).jpg

From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Original file(3,272 × 2,416 pixels, file size: 635 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)

Captions

Captions

Add a one-line explanation of what this file represents

Summary

[edit]
Description
English:

Identifier: collectaneatopog05madd (find matches)
Title: Collectanea topographica et genealogica
Year: 1834 (1830s)
Authors: Madden, Frederic, 1801-1873 Bandinel, Bulkeley, 1781-1861 Nichols, John Gough, 1806-1873
Subjects:
Publisher: London : John Bowyer Nichols and Sons
Contributing Library: Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center
Digitizing Sponsor: Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center

View Book Page: Book Viewer
About This Book: Catalog Entry
View All Images: All Images From Book
Click here to view book online to see this illustration in context in a browseable online version of this book.

Text Appearing Before Image:
uns choir, as shown in the Plan, occupied the westernhalf of the nave; the other half, with the chancel, on the north side ofwhich was the chantry of the family of Asc, being left for the use of theparish. The church has in quite recent times been reduced in size, andthe former chancel is now without a roof.^ Great part of the navewas on that occasion pulled down and rebuilt, using the old materials ;but the steeple, with its bell-house, remains untouched. The monasticbuildings were on the south and west sides of the church (see Plan), andthe extent of the cloister court may still be traced, but the structure isalmost wholly destroyed. Instead of the convent being placed on a small farm, as Mr. Clark-son supposes, the endowment of Roger de Asc comprised a third partof the entire vill of Marrigg, a whole carucate, the boundaries of whichare thus set forth in the deed 3viz. from the Elm-pool in the river Swale* See the engraving in Wliitakeis Richmondshire. \x\.\\,VX, X\\/V\/\.\A/V\A/\/
Text Appearing After Image:
CHARTERS OF MARRIGG PRIORY. 101 by the road called the Rails-gate to the hill called Wechnesberg, and soby the hill siJe to where the church tofts join on to those of the village*and from thence by the side of the wood to the beck running into theroad which comes from Backstone-grave, and from thence by the beckto the Swale. The Virgin Mary was, it seems, joined with St. Andrew, to whom theparish church had been dedicated, in the patronage of the conventualestablishment. In the deeds sometimes both patrons, sometimes onlyone, are named; as in the charter of Henry II. where the name of theVirgin only is introduced. Examples of the contrary practice are, how-ever, more frequent, and the name of St. Andrews priory appears tohave grown into settled use, though the convent seal continued to bearthe impress of the Virgin and Child, a MARRIGG.No. 1. Carta Fundationis.Rogio di gra Ebox Archiepo 6ib% see ecctie filiis ta futis q^sentib^ RogP de Asco Sat. Sciatis me fundatore monasftiscimoniali

Note About Images

Please note that these images are extracted from scanned page images that may have been digitally enhanced for readability - coloration and appearance of these illustrations may not perfectly resemble the original work.
Date
Source

https://www.flickr.com/photos/internetarchivebookimages/14577322079/

Author

Madden, Frederic, 1801-1873; Bandinel, Bulkeley, 1781-1861;

Nichols, John Gough, 1806-1873
Permission
(Reusing this file)
At the time of upload, the image license was automatically confirmed using the Flickr API. For more information see Flickr API detail.
Volume
InfoField
5
Flickr tags
InfoField
Flickr posted date
InfoField
28 July 2014


Licensing

[edit]
This image was taken from Flickr's The Commons. The uploading organization may have various reasons for determining that no known copyright restrictions exist, such as:
  1. The copyright is in the public domain because it has expired;
  2. The copyright was injected into the public domain for other reasons, such as failure to adhere to required formalities or conditions;
  3. The institution owns the copyright but is not interested in exercising control; or
  4. The institution has legal rights sufficient to authorize others to use the work without restrictions.

More information can be found at https://flickr.com/commons/usage/.


Please add additional copyright tags to this image if more specific information about copyright status can be determined. See Commons:Licensing for more information.
This image was originally posted to Flickr by Internet Archive Book Images at https://flickr.com/photos/126377022@N07/14577322079. It was reviewed on 12 October 2015 by FlickreviewR and was confirmed to be licensed under the terms of the No known copyright restrictions.

12 October 2015

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

Date/TimeThumbnailDimensionsUserComment
current10:42, 12 October 2015Thumbnail for version as of 10:42, 12 October 20153,272 × 2,416 (635 KB) (talk | contribs)== {{int:filedesc}} == {{information |description={{en|1=<br> '''Identifier''': collectaneatopog05madd ([https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special%3ASearch&profile=default&fulltext=Search&search=insource%3A%2Fcollectaneatopog05madd%2F fin...

There are no pages that use this file.